CRNA Licensing FAQ

CRNA Licensing Is Critical

Ensuring you have the proper licenses is crucial for your successful job application and practice. Here are some common questions asked regarding licensing for CRNAs. If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team.

Do I need a license to practice as a CRNA?

Yes, a valid state license is required to practice as a CRNA in the United States. Each state has its own licensing requirements, so it's essential to research and fulfill the specific requirements of the state where you intend to practice.

How do I obtain a CRNA license?

To obtain a CRNA license, follow these general steps:

  • Graduate from an accredited nurse anesthesia program.
  • Pass the National Certification Examination (NCE) administered by the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA).
  • Apply for state licensure through the nursing board or regulatory agency in the state where you plan to practice. This process typically involves submitting an application, transcripts, background checks, and fees.
  • Fulfill any additional state-specific requirements, such as jurisprudence exams or continuing education.

Can I practice as a CRNA with a license from one state in another state? Is it possible to work temporarily in another state as a CRNA?

In many cases, you may need to obtain a separate license in the state where you plan to practice. Similar to the IMLC for physicians, some states participate in the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). Registered nurses who live in a compact state and meet the uniform licensure requirements may be eligible for a multistate license. Applying for a multistate license must be done through your board of nursing (BON). Pending these criteria, the APRN license would then be expedited.

Are there any national CRNA certifications required for licensure?

Yes, passing the National Certification Examination (NCE) administered by the NBCRNA is a common requirement for obtaining a CRNA license in many states. The NCE is a comprehensive exam that assesses your knowledge and skills as a nurse anesthetist.

How often do I need to renew my CRNA license?

License renewal periods vary by state but are generally required every 1 to 2 years. Many states also require CRNAs to complete a certain number of continuing education hours as part of the renewal process.

What is a "jurisprudence exam," and do I need to take one?

A jurisprudence exam is a test that assesses your knowledge of the laws, rules, and regulations that govern nursing practice in a specific state. Some states require CRNA license applicants to pass a jurisprudence exam as part of the licensing process.

Have questions?

Don’t worry, we’ll take the work off your hands. Get in touch with our team, and we will walk you through the process of getting credentialed as a CRNA.

Contact our team